Amalfi Coast is made of thirteen towns along the road that goes from the Gulf of Salerno to that of Naples. Creeks, coves and cliffs on the sea: the variegated landscape enchants all the visitors that come to these towns, Praiano, Amalfi, Ravello, Scala, Tramonti, Furore, Agerola, Minori, Maiori, Cetara, Vietri sul Mare.. Each of these towns has its treasure made of lemons, villas, gardens, sea, beaches, smells.

he origin of the town is not a certain one. The name comes from Latina (from Melfi, a Lucan sea village abandoned by Roman people in IV century a.C. or maybe from Roman gens Amarfia, that lived in I century a.C.). A legend tells that the name comes from Amalfi, a nymph loved by Hercules. She was buried there as a desire of the gods. Amalfi was surely inhabited by Romans, escaped on Lattari mounts to hide from Germanic and Longobard invasions. It was a castrum in defence of Byzantine ducat of Naples.

In June 1807 Giuseppe Bonaparte visiting the Coast was enchanted by it and decided to build a road from Naples to Amalfi. The road was completed in 1854 by Ferdinand II. In 1879 the famous writer Erik Ibsen, walking through the narrow streets of the Coast, had the right inspiration to complete his masterpiece “A doll’s house”. In XX century Amalfi became a famous tourist destination, the “dolce vita” arrives from Rome to Capri and Amalfi: film directors, artists, actors and actresses came to this Coast.


Utility numbers and turistic infos

    +39 089 871107

  • Turistic infos -
  • +39 089 8304561

  • Paper Museum -
  • +39 089 871633

  • Urban Police -


My Design Award





i nostri servizi italian version current version